Staff Senate Meeting Minutes

08/12/2021

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Trish Watkins, at 9:35 am
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- III. Roll call
- IV. Campus Updates
 - a) Human Resources Updates- Trish Watkins in absence of Debbie McLoud
 - a. COVID Leave has been extended and all requests are being considered based on the program criteria.
 - b. Fall Semester Q&A on August 16th form 11:30 am to 12:30 pm. Safety precautions, and remote work will be discussed. Highly courage to join the forum.
 - c. Reminder to self-report if you are positive for COVID. Unless you are testing in Pat Walker Health Center this is the only way for campus to know the number of positive cases.
 - b) Parking and Transit- Gary Smith
 - a. Moving has started and will continue till next week, resident reserve lots will be re-open.
 - b. Operating on License Plate Recognition (LPR) for employees, and student sticker permits will expire at end of this week. Students will begin the use LPR next week. Reminder there are no more sticker permits. Taking suggestions on how to better communicate this to staff and faculty.
 - c. Having issues with linking vehicle to their permit. We don't know if that vehicle has been registered.
 - d. Issues with vehicles parking with plate not facing the driveway. Vehicles are pulling through and backing in with no front plate. Font parking tags are available for \$11.00 and are good for multiple years.
 - e. Lot 71 will close 2/3 of parking spaces on August 28,2021. Western section will remain open until the end of December 2021.
 - f. Employees are allowed to register 4 vehicles and students are allowed 2 vehicles. Two vehicles can not be on campus at the same time (sharing violation) they will issue a citation.
- V. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve the Staff Senate July minutes and retreat.

VI. Committee Reports

- a. Treasures Report- Travis Hefley
 - Budget has been reallocated from awards ceremonies to staff appreciation week.
- b. Awards- Michela Cupello
 - i. Part-time award nomination application will need to be submitted from September 7 -17.
- c. Communications- Rachael Gray
 - i. Any website updates need to be emailed to Rachel Gray.
 - ii. Communications meeting will be schedule monthly and assigning social media channels.
- d. Scholarships- Kelly Westeen
 - i. Staff Senate Scholarships winners

- 1.Rachel Piontak
- 2. Kathryn Lammers
- 3. Andrew VanLew
- 4. Trajan Lester
- 5. Andrea Allan
- 6.Megan Hull
- 7. Arlyn Brazell
- 8.Sarah Judy
- 9. Trent Leslie
- 10. Katie Pounders
- 12. Autumn Parker

e. Special Events- Michael Rau

- i. Special Events committee meetings will begin once school starts.
- ii. Planning an event for October 14,2021 for during Staff Appreciation week.
- iii. Staff Appreciation Week is the second full week of October, Awards Banquet is schedule October 12,2021, too soon to confirm the events.

VII. New Business- Roy Cordell

- a. Come as you Arkansas is still schedule. Proposing that we get stickers and buttons for staff on campus for that day.
 - i. A vote was passed to support the purchase of stickers and buttons for staff

VIII. Vice Chair - EmmaLe Davis

- a. Update on meeting format: Fully remote this meeting.
- b. Meeting format will be case by case and month by month until there is a decision made face to face or hybrid.

IX. Chair's Report- Trish Watkins

- a. Resolution was sent out two weeks ago to Legislators in regard to allowing the University of Arkansas making their own decision to have a mask mandate.
- b. It was turned in and signed by the Faculty Senate, Staff Senate, ASG and The Graduate Student group. There was nothing passed that will allow the mask mandate as of now.
- c. Lawsuit in place now, it is temporarily and can change.
- d. Email was sent out requesting volunteers to serve on campus committees, 2 senators stepped up for Parking and Transit appeals and Transit Parking and traffic committee.
- e. Still need volunteers for Public Safety Council. Derrick Hartberger has volunteered to join the council.
- f. Need Catastrophic Committee volunteer- Cindy Ryan has volunteered

X. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 10:08 am

<u>Senators in attendance:</u> Aaron Abbott, Autumn Parker, Ben Polluck, Betsy Bushmiaer, Cecilia Grossberger, Chantel Moseby, Cindy Ryan, Danielle Dunn, Denise Bignar, Derrick Hartberger, Elizabeth Miller, EmmaLe Davis, Erin Butler, Gary Smith, Joe Loy, Kelly Westeen, Mark Rushing, Matthew Myers, Matthew Fey, Michael Rau, Michela Cupello, Rachel Gray, Jeremy McAtee, Rocio Rosas, Roy Cordell, Stephen Ritterbush, Theresa Parrish, Travis Hefley, Tracy Deffebaugh, Trish Watkins, Wayne Bell Jr

<u>Senators not in attendance:</u> Allen Porter, Amber Roth, Clayton Hamilton, Colleen Whitman, Madelyn Jones, Myrlinda Soedjede, Devyn Moore, Raymond Anders, Debbie McLoud, Michele Burns