Staff Senate Meeting Minutes 02/11/2021

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Trish Watkins, at 9:30 am
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- III. Roll call
- IV. Campus Updates
 - a. Human Resources Updates Debbie McLoud
 - i. Employee evaluations for calendar year 2020 are now open
 - 1. Not all employees will have self-evaluations
 - 2. Deadline is April 30th
 - b. Parking and Transit Gary Smith
 - i. Not present to give report inclement weather prep
- V. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve the Staff Senate January minutes
- VI. Committee Reports
 - a. Awards Michela Cupello
 - Outstanding Staff Team award goes to the Teaching Innovation and Technological Support team
 - 1. Team leaders Kathryn Zawisza and Shelly Waters
 - 2. Will be recognized at the staff celebration on February 22nd
 - b. Election Matthew Fey
 - i. Overview of staff in each division to determine number of seats in Staff Senate
 - 1. Chancellor: 3 senators (no change), 1 up for election
 - 2. Academic Affairs: 13 senators (up 2), 4 up for election
 - 3. Advancement: 1 senator (no change), 0 up for election
 - 4. Finance and Admin: 7 senators (no change), 2 up for election
 - 5. Student Affairs: 3 senators (down 1) 1 up for election
 - 6. At Large: 6 senators (no change), 2 up for election
 - ii. Vote to approve numbers passes with majority
 - c. Special Events Derrick Hartberger
 - i. A survey was released in Newswire today and will continue to run for a few weeks regarding an event for Staff Appreciation in May
- VII. New Business
 - a. A discussion was held regarding the Brough and Fulbright names and statues on campus
 - i. Vote taken on following issues:
 - Regarding the Fulbright Statue; 11 senators votes to remain as is, 8
 voted to remain but be moved to another location on campus, 8 voted
 to remove, 1 abstained
 - 2. Regarding the Fulbright name on the College of Arts and Sciences; 15 senators voted to keep the name the same, 14 voted to rename
 - 3. Regarding the Brough name on the Brough Commons; 4 senators voted to keep the name the same, 22 voted to rename, 2 abstained
- VIII. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 10:33 am

<u>Senators in attendance</u>: Allen Porter, Amber Roth, Autumn Parker, Ben Pollock, Betsy Bushmiaer, Cecilia Grossberger-Medina, Cindy Ryan, Clayton Hamilton, Colleen Whitman, Danielle Dunn, Debbie Ritter, Denise Bignar, Derrick Hartberger, Devyn Moore, EmmaLe Davis, Erin Butler, Jeremy McAtee, Joe Loy, Kelly Westeen, Madelyn Jones, Matthew Fey, Matthew Myers, Michela Cupello, Rachel Gray, Rocio Rosas, Roy Cordell, Stephen Ritterbush, Theresa Parish, Travis Hefley, Trish Watkins, Debbie McLoud (XO)

<u>Senators not in attendance</u>: Raymond Anders, Katherine Roland (XO)