### **Staff Senate Meeting Minutes**

### 5/12/2022

- ❖ Meeting called to order by EmmaLe Davis at 9:30 am
- A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- Health & Occupational Safety presentation by Danielle Dunn.
- Emmale with Introduction of new senators
  - Katelyn Riggins Student Affairs
  - Ashley Reeds Academic Affairs
  - Chelsea Barton Academic Affairs
- Debbie with HR update
  - Salary increases for July still unofficially on track, pending approval at the board meeting May 25 and 26
  - Performance reviews currently being wrapped up
  - o Highly encouraged to take time off during the summer
  - o RFP is out on the classification and compensation project, it's moving forward
  - Introduction of Ashley Ingram
    - Started January 2022 as Director Of talent Development
    - Reviving the UA Leaders program
    - Goal is to help employees where you are with leadership, development, and retention and to make the UA an employer of choice.
  - System office is discussing standardizing inclement weather policies across the various UA system campuses.
- Michela for Gary with parking
  - New plans to start the beginning of the fall semester 2022 to transition to electronic citation.
    - There are three violation types to be submitted as electronic instead of paper: no permit, unauthorized parking lot/spot (student parking in staff or yellow lots) and meter violations
  - Citations will be issued electronically via email.
- A motion made, seconded, and passed to approve minutes for April's meeting
- Travis with Treasurers report
  - Budget Unofficially approved by central but unsure of amount until Board of Trustees' meeting which would provide an increase from \$40,000.00 to \$48,000.00 to cover staff appreciation, staff picnic, and the awards.
- Autumm with Special Events
  - o Staff picnic 5/19

- Picnic set up 5/18, EmmaLe is coordinating tasks
- Thanks to Jen Boyer for coordinating the vendors and donations.

#### Denice with elections

 Elections were a little different that normal, had no contested positions, we still have a few open seats. All of the candidates were elected by acclimation.

## Matthew with legislative

- o A reminder that early voting is between May 9 and 23
- General primary is on May 24 from 7:30 am 7:30 pm
- Updates to voting laws:
  - Voters will need a photo ID to vote
  - Voters without a photo ID can still place a provisional vote, but you must go home and get an approved form of ID for your vote to go through
  - Forms of approved IDs are:
    - US passport
    - Driver's License
    - Arkansas College/University badge
    - US military badge

#### Kelly with scholarships

- Staff Senate scholarship application is live, we do not have any applicants as of this morning
- These scholarships are for the entire academic year
- There will be an opportunity in the spring for a scholarship for the Spring '23 semester
- Myrlinda with Ad Hoc Committee Childcare update
  - Reviewed initial numbers from the childcare survey, a more detailed analysis will be published soon
- ❖ EmmaLe relayed an idea that Monica Holland pitched to her about perhaps putting together a proposal to the Women's Giving Circle for a grant to create an emergency fund for staff who have costs related to medical care. She asked for volunteers to reach out to Monica in order to work on this proposal. Allen Porter, Wayne Bell and Elizabeth Miller volunteered to work it.
- Denise with Officer Elections
  - May meeting is where we close nominations. As of now, we have:
    - EmmaLe Davis for Chair
    - Roy Cordell for Vice-Chair
    - Myrlinda Soedjede for Secretary

- Travis Hefley for Treasurer
- o A motion to close nominations and seconded, no objections heard.
- $\circ\quad$  Officer Elections will take place at the June meeting.
- Allen Porter thanked the senate for their work to get the University to get a stipend, like other state law enforcement officers.
- No chairs report at this time.
- ❖ A motion to adjourn was made at 10:20, seconded and passed.

# Senators present:

Denise	Bignar
Erin	Butler
Matthew	Fey
	Grossberger-
Cecilia	Medina
Joe	Loy
Matthew	Meyers
Theresa	Parrish
Stephen	Ritterbush
Trish	Watkins
Kelly	Westeen
Jen	Boyer
Betsy	Bushmiaer
EmmaLe	Davis
Derrick	Hartberger
Tony	Boyd
Allen	Porter
Amber	Roth

Wayne	Bell
Roy	Cordell
Michela	Cupello
Tracy	Deffebaugh
Rachel	Gray
Travis	Hefley
Elizabeth	Miller
Autumn	Parker
Ben	Pollock
Myrlinda	Soedjede

### Senators absent:

Danielle	Dunn
Aaron	Abbott
Cindy	Ryan
Chantel	Moseby
Amy	Shell