## Staff Senate Minutes October 11, 2023 3:00 PM CORD 349

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Roy Cordell, at 3:04 p.m.
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda.
- III. Roll Call Myrlinda Soedjede
- IV. Campus Updates None, as neither Michelle nor Gary were present.
- V. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve the Staff Senate September minutes
- VI. Treasurer's Report Autumn Parker
  - A. Autumn put a copy of the updated report in the chat
    - 1. Not many changes posted salary updates and last year's Team awards
    - 2. Spent all but about \$6 from the \$3,000 allocated for Staff Appreciation
- VII. Committee Reports
  - A. Awards Elizabeth Miller
    - 1. Part-time award winner Emily Compean in Multicultural Center
  - B. EOQ/EOY Ashley Reeves
    - 1. First quarter nominations due by the 15<sup>th</sup>
    - 2. Don't have many nominations looking for more in skilled trades
  - C. Special Events Kaitlyn Riggin
    - 1. Had an events for Staff Appreciation were well-attended
    - Next week is the Staff Awards event (for EOQ, EOY, awards winners, etc.)
      a. The Wednesday, the 18<sup>th</sup> in the Union 9-10:30am
  - D. Questions/discussion
    - Suggestion for units to unify communications about events. Roy would like to know of all Staff celebration events to combine them. He would like to put together a list in Arkansas News, showing what all units did to celebrate staff
- VIII. New Business
  - A. N/A
- IX. Old Business
  - A. Scholarship Naming Roy Cordell
    - 1. We asked Internal Affairs to discuss naming a scholarship after Valerie Pryor.
    - 2. There was extensive discussion and then a motion and second to name a Staff Senate scholarship in honor of Valerie Pryor. The motion passed.
    - 3. Language will be drafted to update the bylaws at the next meeting. The earliest it can be voted on is December.
- X. Chair's Report Roy Cordell
  - A. The Class/Comp project is moving into the comparison with industry phase
  - B. The presentation to the Strategic Operations Group triggered studies on parking, space, housing, and traffic
    - 1. Other items are going into the Class/Comp project
  - C. Dr. Robinson has a legislative committee meeting next week to discuss DEI
  - D. Discussion about the amount of certificates staff receive for the same accolade
- XI. Upcoming Meeting
  - A. November 8, 2023, 3:00-4:30 p.m. CORD 349
- XII. Around the Senate
  - A. October is Disability Awareness Month. Alli shared the following events:

- 1. 10/5/23 GettingHired: Disability Etiquette Training virtual event via Teams, 2:00pm to 3:00pm
- 10/9/23 The Future of Diversity in the Workforce, keynote speaker Dr. Charles Barber, Chief Diversity Officer for the National Science Foundation – in-person event at 3:00pm in the Arkansas Union Verizon Ballroom
- 3. 10/17/23 The Job Accommodation Network: Service and Emotional Support Animals in The Workplace webinar virtual event via Zoom from 10:30 am to 11:45 am
- 4. 10/25/23 University of Arkansas Disability Recognition Awards in-person event from 11:00 am to 1:00 pm, Arkansas Union room 507-509, Chancellor Charles F. Robinson to open the formal awards ceremony at 11:30 am.
- 5. 10/26/2023 Disabilities Resource Fair in-person event from 10:00am-1:00pm in the Arkansas Union International Connections Lounge. Hosted by the Center for Educational Access
- B. If you purchase a faculty/staff meal plan, swipes now carry over from one year to the next. Historically, that wasn't the case: <u>https://dineoncampus.com/razorbacks/facultystaff-meal-plans</u>
- XIII. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 4:22 p.m.

**Senators in attendance:** Karmen Boddie, Jen Boyer, Erin Butler, Garry Butler, Vince Capps, Becca Clifton, Roy Cordell, Michela Cupello, Tracy Deffebaugh, Alisha Gilbride, Kim Gillow, Walter Green, Hershel Hartford, Travis Hefley, Alli Johnson, Elizabeth Miller, Katherine Miller, Ruth Parcells, Autumn Parker, Rachel Piontak, Ben Pollock, Allen Porter, Ashley Reeves, Kaitlyn Riggin, Stephen Ritterbush, Amber Roth, Cindy Ryan, Myrlinda Soedjede, Carrie Whitmer

Senators not in attendance: Wayne Bell, Chris Butler, John Jackson, Amy Shell, Trish Watkins