## **Staff Senate Meeting Minutes**

## 09/09/2021

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Trish Watkins, at 9:30 am
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- III. Roll call
- IV. Campus Updates

# a) Human Resources Updates- Debbie McLoud

- a. Employee Awards banquet will be postponed until late January or early February. The headcount was simply too large, Executive Committee asked that it be postponed.
- b. Open enrollment for benefits will start in October for a 3-week window.
- c. More information will be coming regarding health plan changes, if any, and she is not aware of any premium increases.

# b) Parking and Transit- Gary Smith

- a. SEC Nation is setting up and taking up a large part of Lot 44 for this weekend's football game.
- b. They are short on bus drivers, probably going to have to reduce the red route from 3 buses to 2.
- c. First two weeks of school seem to have gone pretty well.
- d. Note that if there are reserved lots that employees do not fill, they sell the empty slots to students.
- e. No permit citations increased to \$75 this year. After 3 citations, the fine doubles. Students can work \$50 off of one citation a year at the Volunteer Action Center.
- f. Motorcycles and scooters need to have a specific sticker and have to park in motorcycle or scooter spaces.
- V. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve the Staff Senate August minutes.

## VI. Committee Reports

- a. Treasures Report-Travis Hefley
  - i. The only expenses this month were buttons and scholarships.
- b. Awards- Michela Cupello

- i. Part time employee award nominations are being accepted at this time.
- c. EOQ/EOY Autumn Parker
  - i. Announced Employees of the Fourth Quarter
  - ii. Nominations for Employee of the first quarter are open now
- d. Special Events- EmmaLe reporting for Michael Rau
  - i. Still working on a date for virtual EOQ celebration.
  - ii. Looking to have an Employee Appreciation Week event, most likely a grab and go snack type event.

### VII. New Business- Roy Cordell

a. Come as you Arkansas tomorrow, if you haven't gotten your buttons or stickers, please come to Davis Hall and encourage your co-workers to wear them tomorrow.

#### VIII. Vice Chair - EmmaLe Davis

- a. Discussion of proposed resolution regarding remote work policy.
  - a. Ben updated the numbers in the proposal.
  - A motion was made and seconded to limit debate to 2 minutes per senator. Motion passed 26 in favor, 1 opposed. Debate will be limited to 2 minutes per senator.
  - c. EmmaLe made a statement on behalf of the staff senate executive committee regarding the remote work resolution: There are currently policies in place to allow for the request of a remote arrangement; the university is already providing ppe to all staff; we disagree with the desire to disobey a board of trustees resolution calling for face to face classes this fall.
  - d. A motion was made and seconded to approve the resolution as written:
    - i. NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the University of Arkansas Staff Senate calls for the University of Arkansas to protect its employees by allowing those who can work remotely — be they staff, faculty or graduate assistants the option to work or teach from home, and to protect

those who must work on campus by providing sufficient personal protective equipment and encouraging them to closely follow health safety protocols.

- e. The motion failed, 9 in favor, 15 opposed.
- b. Anthony Dinicola and Lori Lander reviewed the Belonging effort that we are going to discuss in closed session at the end of this meeting.
- X. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to move into closed session at 10:37 am.

<u>Senators in attendance:</u> Aaron Abbott, Wayne Bell, Ben Polluck, Denise Bignar, Betsy Bushmaier, Erin Butler, Roy Cordell, Michela Cupello, EmmaLe Davis, Tracy Deffebaugh, Danielle Dunn, Matthew Fey, Rachel Ray, Cecilia Grossberger-Medina, Travis Hefley, Joe Loy, Matthew Meyers, Elizabeth Miller, Chantel Moseby, Autumn Parker, Theresa Parrish, Ben Pollock, Allen Porter, Stephen Ritterbush, Amber Roth, Cindy Ryan, Myrlinda Soedjede, Trish Watkins, Kelly Westeen.

Senators not in attendance: Raymond Anders, Derrick Hartberger, Jeremy McAtee,