## Staff Senate Meeting Minutes 12/12/2019

## Arkansas Union 503

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Trish Watkins, at 9:30 AM
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- III. Roll Call Elon Turner
- IV. Campus Updates
  - a. Human Resources Updates Debbie McLoud
    - W-2s will be mailed by January 31; please make sure your address is updated in webBASIS
    - 2. Tobacco Attestation completion was 98% this year
    - 3. Employees are encouraged to make sure they are up to date with vaccinations, particularly against mumps
      - Pat Walker Health Center and the Health Department will have immunization clinics in early January to ensure employees are vaccinated
        - a. Check Newswire for more information
    - 4. Workday implementation is set for July 1, 2020
    - 5. Salary issues are still being addressed
    - 6. Minimum wage will increase January 1, 2020 to \$10/hour
      - i. Pay plan has already been adjusted to reflect increase
      - ii. Hourly employee wage rates will need to be adjusted to reflect the new minimum wage requirement
    - 7. Departments are encouraged to begin submitting hourly timesheets for hourly workers for the 1<sup>st</sup> through the 15<sup>th</sup> of the month and the 16<sup>th</sup> through the 30<sup>th</sup>/31<sup>st</sup> in order to prepare for the Workday hourly pay schedules
    - 8. FLSA changes effective January 2020
      - i. Employees that are exempt and make under \$35,000 must be nonexempt in 2020
  - b. Parking and Transit Updates Gary Smith
    - 1. Associated Student Government has proposed that a test be required before purchasing a University parking permit
      - i. Test would consist of lot and parking regulations to possibly reduce incorrect parking, fines, and towing of vehicles
    - 2. Athletic event reminders may be moved to a monthly notice for all lot closures versus per event email notifications
    - 3. E-scooters are now on campus
      - i. Possibly adding another vendor
        - a. Spin is the only provider of e-scooters currently
    - 4. Electric vehicle charging spaces in the Garland parking garage are active and ready for use
- V. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve Staff Senate November meeting minutes

- VI. Committee Reports
  - a. Awards Autumn Parker
    - 1. Staff Team Award nominations are now open
      - i. Nominees must be 100% appointed employees
      - ii. The nomination form is available on the Staff Senate website
      - iii. Nominations must be submitted by January 24, 2020
  - b. Employee of the Year/Employee of the Quarter Travis Hefley
    - 1. Employee of the First Quarter recipients have been announced in Newswire
      - i. Category one Academic winner is Trisha Blau
      - ii. Category one Administrative winner is Mark Larmoyeux
      - iii. Category two winner is Amanda Sanders
      - iv. Category three winner is Julie Brogan
      - v. Category four winner is Gabriel Grider
    - 2. Employee of the Second Quarter nominations are now open
      - i. Deadline for nominations is January 15, 2020
  - c. Special Events Michael Rau
    - 1. The donation period for Razorgifts is now over
      - i. All gifts will be given to recipients the week of December 16<sup>th</sup> 20<sup>th</sup>
- VII. Campus Climate Survey Debbie McLoud & Trish Watkins
  - a. 33.8% response rate from 3,259 staff members
    - 1. More communication regarding the Staff Climate Survey will be prepared for the 2020 survey
  - b. A copy of the survey will be available after an announcement is made in Newswire  $\,$
- VIII. Chair's Report Trish Watkins
  - a. Thank you to members of campus council that attended the meeting
  - b. Internal Affairs addressing Telecommuting Policy 412.3 for a possible update to address technological growth
    - 1. Policy now clearly states that telecommuting cannot be used for sick leave substitution, childcare, or family member care
      - i. Policy may change in order to accommodate those circumstances
- IX. Around the Senate
  - a. Stephen Ritterbush
    - 1. Seeking to collect information on employee education and development incentives, so that it can be provided to staff
      - i. Anyone with information regarding this and a desire to contribute is asked to contact Stephen Ritterbush directly
- X. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 10:23 AM

Senate members in attendance

Denise Bignar
Alex Booth
Erin Butler
Collin Reed Caley
Roy Cordell
Michela Cupello
Katie Doughty
Trisha DuCote
Danielle Dunn
Matthew Fey
Cecilia Grossberger-Medina
Clayton Hamilton
Derrick Hartberger
Travis Hefley
Daniela Kidd
Madelyn Jones
Cedar Middleton
Devyn Moore
Cindy Morley
Autumn Parker
Theresa Parrish
Michael Rau
Stephen Ritterbush
Elon Turner
Quincy Ward
Trish Watkins
Kelly Westeen
Colleen Whitman

Ana Isabel Ayala Barker

	lessica					
ı	$\Delta CCI$	$\sim$	V 11	$\sim$	++	
ı	-//	l a	NI.	$\sim$		

Debbie McLoud

## Senators members not in attendance

EmmaLe Davis

Rachel Gray

Joe Loy

Matthew Meyers

Allen Porter

Evan Hinchliffe

Toya Williams