Staff Senate July Meeting and Retreat

07/11/2019

Arkansas World Trade Center

- I. The meeting was called to order by chair, Trish Watkins, at 9:02 AM
- II. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adopt the agenda
- III. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to approve minor changes to Staff Senate June monthly minutes
- IV. The Staff Senate picture was taken
- V. Roll call Elon Turner
- VI. Human Resources Updates Debbie McLoud
 - a. COLA, merit, and pay plan implementation are in effect
 - b. Many new certificate programs and training and development opportunities are available on the central HR website at https://hr.uark.edu/working/training/index.php
 - c. WorkDay implementation is on track for July 1, 2020
 - d. Health plan increases are in effect
 - i. Medical premiums have increased but co-pays and other out of pocket costs have not increased
 - ii. Wellness incentive opportunities are in effect
 - 1. Free weight loss program called Real Appeal
 - 2. Free wellness exam between November 1, 2018 to October 31, 2019
 - a. This visit must be coded as a wellness exam by the physician's office in order to qualify
 - 3. Reminder that the Tobacco Pledge must be completed each year during open enrollment in November
 - a. Tobacco fees fund campus wellness events and activities for employees
 - e. Mandatory retirement contributions are now 4%, up from 3%
 - i. Countdown to retirement programs have improved retirement goals for almost 1,700 employees
 - 1. This program will continue in the spring
 - f. Reminder that for dependents to qualify for the tuition wavier benefit, dependents must be IRS defined tax dependents
 - g. The Benefits Fair is set for November 8, 2019
- VII. Institutional Budget Presentation Chris McCoy
- VIII. Chancellor Steinmetz spoke about Campaign Arkansas, Advance Arkansas Scholarship, Student Success Center, student retention, research responsibilities as a land grant University, and the 150 year Anniversary celebration being planned for 2021.
- IX. Committee Overview and Formation
 - a. Staff Senate committees were discussed and are open for Staff Senate members to join
 - i. Awards committee is headed by Elizabeth McKinley
 - ii. Communications committee is headed by Roy Cordell
 - iii. Elections committee is headed by Stephen Ritterbush

- iv. Employee of the Quarter and Employee of the Year committee is headed by Autumn Parker
- v. Internal Affairs committee is headed by Denise Bignar
- vi. Legislative committee is headed by Devyn Moore
- vii. Scholarship committee is headed by EmmaLe Davis
- viii. Special Events committee is headed by Michael Rau
- ix. Transit, Parking, and Safety committee is headed by Michela Cupello
- b. Deadline to sign up for a committee is Friday, July 19, 2019
- X. Campus Council
 - a. Trish Watkins and Cindy Morley serve as Chairs
 - b. Volunteers for campus council were requested
 - Raymond Anders, Travis Hefley, Erin Butler, Katie Doughty, EmmaLe Davis, Danielle Dunn, Kelly Westeen, Theresa Parrish, Michael Rau, Allen Porter, Elon Turner, Rachel Gray, Trisha Ducote, Stephen Ritterbush,
- XI. Core values of Staff Senate discussed
 - a. Most common word choice to describe the ideal Staff Senator trait was "communication"
 - b. Staff Senate is helping to support the Chancellor's Guiding Priorities and will work to reaffirm presence and purpose to University staff
 - c. Senators are encouraged to engage more with staff members
 - i. Discussion was held to entertain the idea of creating a staff publication in addition to Newswire
- XII. University grievance process presentation J'onnelle Colbert-Diaz
- XIII. A motion was made, seconded, and passed to adjourn at 3:48 PM

Senators in Attendance:

Raymond L. Anders

Denise Bignar

Erin Butler

Collin Reed Caley

Roy Cordell

EmmaLe Davis

Katie Doughty

Trisha DuCote

Danielle Dunn

Matthew Fey

Rachel Gray

Cecilia Grossberger-Medina

Clayton Hamilton

Derrick Hartberger

Travis Hefley

Daniela Kidd

Katherine Kimmerly

Joe Loy

Debbie McLoud

Matthew Meyers

Cedar Middleton

Devyn Moore

Cindy Morley

Autumn Parker

Theresa Parrish

Terri Phelan

Allen Porter

Michael Rau

Stephen Ritterbush

Elon Turner

Quincy Ward

Trish Watkins

Kelly Westeen

Colleen Whitman

Toya Williams

Senators Absent:

Ana Isabel Ayala Barker

Alex Booth

Michela Cupello

Evan Hinchliffe

Elizabeth McKinley